NITK Chronicles – S01E03 – The room-mate

“I don’t need to pay a therapist to give me crap. I have a roommate that does it for free.” – #Katie Holmes

“Fire in the hole!!”

And I was blinded. By the time I recovered, Pratik had already assassinated me.

“When will you understand that you can’t win a match in Counter-strike cynically? Its a team game, and you should worry about your team-mates, mate!!” – I shouted, my nostrils flaring in disgust, having lost a game that was believed to be ours.

“Don’t blame the flash-bang grenade, learn to blame yourself! Haven’t you seen how Pratik plays? Why would you stumble when you have to show aggression? Don’t shout on me, curse your own skills!! You’re not the ‘C.R.’ when you play counter-strike, pal!!”, Anirudh bellowed.

……………

Anirudh and I had always wanted to be room-mates. Neither because we belonged from the same place, nor because we were in the same department. Those were the added incentives to something we strongly believed, “We are of same nature!”. By some co-incidence, our entrance exam scores were also supposed to be the same! We were compelled to think that nothing could be better than staying together.

Although, neither the hostel administration, nor the other boys, encouraged us! We were placed in different rooms initially, and after a few futile attempts in the hostel office, we had planned a plenty of exchange offers for our hostel-mates, whoever would like to help us. But, we had to give up after a week, or 10 days. No one was really interested!

We used to console ourselves, “Think if we were room-mates, we’d play counter-strike and waste the days. That won’t be wise, as we have a lot of assignments, tests and projects.”

……………..

Anirudh’s arrogant reply shocked me. I told him, “It was better that we’re not room-mates. That will cause some serious fight over counter-strike.”

Anirudh was downhearted. Reading it from his expressions, I quickly corrected myself, “But on the other hand, it would be endless fun, isn’t it? We, staying in the same room! Just, we’ll play the game as oppositions! Problem solved.”

There’s a proverb, “Rejections are nothing but re-directions to something better!”. Although, it has been false in our case. After we spent almost a month at the PG hostel, NITK – we got an unbelievable offer. My roommate and Anirudh’s roommate were now agreed to change places, making the two of us together. There were some other internal sliding to be followed, but neither Anirudh, nor I, seemed to care. I can visualize his face right now as well, the face full of joy, when he was shifting to my room, the room no. 145, with all his luggage and furniture (Yes, he brought a table and a chair, EXTRA, because his luggage was prodigious!!).

There are many remarkable events in history that seemingly changed many things which follow. Since the inception of the fact that Anirudh was my room-mate, some unforgettable events had to follow later on!

THOSE WERE, PROBABLY, SOMETHING WHICH WILL REMIND ‘US’ OF NITK, WHEREVER WE GO!!

//All the characters used in this blog are fictitious. Yes, every single one of them, even I am imaginary! If you find any resemblance with anything, its your responsibility!//

2 thoughts on “NITK Chronicles – S01E03 – The room-mate

Leave a comment